Made At Home With Love Round 2

Since I can’t get enough lately, I already have a pretty diverse handful of meals to share with you today. Even with all the fantastic eating opportunities in Berlin, I still manage to spend tons of time cooking my own meals and experiments at home. It’s still asparagus season, so that’s why I went all asparagus crazy this time around and most meals include spinach too- also not a coincidence. It was a bit expensive, so we made the most of it! It was absolutely delicious though and I am so happy we’re obsessed with spinach now. At least I am! I even put it in my smoothies to make them taste better. Speaking of smoothies, I almost died making them this week! Pretty silly on my part though. After burning off the rubber cord around the wire of my mixer, I continued to use it. It had contact with a stove burner not too long ago and I already made the mistake of keeping it after that happened, and then made another STUPID mistake and plugged it in above the sink while making smoothies on a wet surface. I had a little guardian angel watching over me that morning because after finishing a smoothie and a half already, I set it down for maybe a second or two and BAM! The mixer sparked, electricity shut off, Tom ran to my side and we stood there, a bit in shock for a minute. The electric shock put a hole in the metal surface of our sink/stove and I later cheers’d with half a smoothie to the fact that I’m still was breathing. My word!

Phew! Okay. Back to food. Same as before, we’re still eating carb-free for dinner (5 times/week) so most meals featured are lunches. I also reduced meat and eliminated pork. The pictures could be better, I’ll work on it. Let me know if you have any recipe questions! (Also- links to more pictures will be added later, sorry, I’m tired!)

 Roasted Asparagus Toasts with Poached Eggs

10320435_10202080100097474_4147688743394783361_n

So fun to make and sooooo yummy. It was definitely something different as well which I like! It’s also quicker than you think to make! I used flax-seed instead of sesame seeds. It wasn’t really replacement, just really something I left out because I didn’t have it at home and used it as an excuse to eat more flax-seed. I also think the lemon-garlic base on the toasts could easily be replaced with simply butter. It took a while to make and it tasted good, but not necessary I think! This was the first time I made poached eggs by the way and I could eat them every day!

Recipe

How to make a poached eggs easy video


Breakfast Smoothies: 1. Strawberry-Banana-Orange 2. Strawberry-Orange-Spinach 3. Strawberry-Banana-Raspberry Yogurt 

10256447_10202080095417357_1940480164329795336_n

I used a puree-er to make my smoothies, I now desperately need a blender since that devil’s in the trash now. I made the first one with a splash of milk because I was nervous to stick the mixer directly into a bowl of strawberries and bananas. You don’t need milk though and the smoothies that aren’t based with milk or yogurt taste better to me. They taste fresher and all the sugar is natural. My smoothie made with spinach tasted by far the best. I really want to keep trying out new combinations. After I mixed all the fruits together, I simply added ice cubes. I also finished off the smoothies with flax-seeds. If you make a few at once you can store them in fridge and drink one when you get home from work. It’s a nice refreshing treat to come home to!

More pictures of smoothie-making


Baked Spinach-Artichoke Dip and Baguette

10155923_10202080124098074_3188173229712622526_n

Omg, this worked out perfectly. I had a basic idea already about how to make baked spinach-artichoke dip, but to be sure I referred to this recipe. I had to of course improvise, but it still came out tasting BOMB. First of all, it didn’t taste at all like it would at a restaurant and I used french bread instead of tortilla chips for dipping. I think chips would also be an appropriate choice though. 🙂 In the end, I used about half the recipe above and it was more than enough for two people to replace a meal with this “snack.” I won’t give details on all my substitutes because it was sort of a bit ridiculous. Ahhhh, but this is so worth making at home with love! Trust me!


Tuna-Spinach Salad with Feta, Tomatoes, Cucumbers, Yellow Bell Pepper, and Carrots

1609939_10202080095097349_3971211614958091937_n

What a yummy salad!!! Not only is it fantastically colorful and pretty, it also tasted great! Not to mention it’ll fill you up. I think the only ingredient I forgot to mention in the title is green onions, but other than that just remember to wash the spinach (and all the vegetables of course), the tuna’s canned, and use yellow bell peppers for a sweeter salad. I made the salad dressing with Dijon mustard, olive oil, sour cream, pepper, and red vinegar.


Beef Burgers with Spinach and Home Fries

10262083_10202080092697289_981712053871163921_n

Made unhealthy with cream cheese, Gouda slices, thick white-bread buns and fried potatoes, but oh-so good! Burgers are also so easy to make for lunch and they keep you satisfied for the rest of the day! Spotted- my friend, spinach!

More pictures from the burger making process


Turkey-Vegetable-Egg Scramble and Banana-Kiwi-Spinach-Carrot-Orange Smoothie (Death Smoothie)

image

This breakfast takes some preparation, but you feel great during and after you eat it. I also felt good while making it, but I sort of get in the zone while cooking and it’s totally a good time. Slice up (cube) the vegis, one large slice of cheese, and two slices of turkey lunch meat first then cook the vegetables in the following order- first zucchini, add bell peppers 5 minutes later, cook both until nearly finished (I don’t cook them completely through, but keep them a bit hard rather), then add onions, garlic, and tomatoes. Set vegis aside. Scramble 5 eggs and milk mixture, when nearly done, add turkey and cheese. Use minimal olive oil for frying the vegis and a bit of butter for the scrambled eggs. Combine and enjoy! Serves 2

Best-tasting smoothie ever btw.


Pesto Pasta with Sundried Tomatoes and Roasted Asparagus 

10339640_10202080121778016_6525947835036459022_n

Such a huge fan of sundried tomatoes and white, roasted asparagus. Both are expensive though. But a meal like this made at home (with love) is still a third of the price compared to an elaborate restaurant pasta! Green pesto is actually not my favorite, unless you eat it with peanut butter too, I tried that once and got a bit carried away. I should give that combo another shot!  I did enjoy this pasta though naturally. I followed this recipe. I used white asparagus instead, I had no choice, I’d prefer to do it next time with green! I added green onions and mozzarella, I mean why not!

Leave a Reply

